Biscuits, bananas and bunnies

Ah, I love a good corny title! The Easter long weekend has drawn to an end, and despite my wishes, I didn’t spend the entire weekend baking…only some of it!

On Good Friday I took a drive down to the Peninsula to visit my Mama in Mornington. Whenever I head down there I either come baring some sort of baked offering, or I bake while I’m there. This trip was no different. I came armed with Hot Cross Cup Cakes (rave reviews, esp for the icing!!!) and having spied some rather ripe looking bananas and a bag of walnuts, decided to make Banana bread. Unfortunately, the banana bread was eaten before I could get a camera near it, but I’ve been requested to make it again ASAP (the boy likes it!!), so I will document the banana bread another day.

On Sunday, we were in the mood for biscuits, so I whipped up a quick batch of biscuitsDarling decorating (cookies to those Americans out there…) and they cooled while I had a wild night out with my girl friends. Sunday morning (ok, afternoon…) I got a call from my darling to arrange the decorating of the cookies. Now apparently, the boy doesn’t LIKE baking – that’s fine, I understand it’s not everyone’s thing, but goodness me, give him the piping bag or the icing syringe and you’re not getting it back!

Simple biscuits (from memory!!)

  • 2 cups self raising flour
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 125 g butter
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla essence
  • 3 tblsp milk

Cream butter and sugar, add vanilla essence and milk, beat again. Fold in sifted flour, roll balls of dough about walnut size on baking sheet, you can either squish them with a fork or leave them kinda domed. Bake in the oven at about 200C for 15 mins max.

cookies! My boy and I like to sometimes stray away from tradition decorating methods and styles…so have a look at what we’ve done with our biscuits! Decorating biscuits reminded me of Christmasvarious time when we decorated about 25+ gingerbread men and women for my work’s Christmas ‘bake off’ – we won the Best Christmas entry and our prize was a set of magnetic measuring spoons – here’s a picture of some of our creative ideas for gingerbread men and women. On the topic of gingerbread, building a gingerbread house is on this year’s baking agenda!

Gingerbread!
March 24, 2008. Tags: , . Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

