Nom nom nom…

 

I find this picture so funny because ‘nom nom nom’ is totally the noise we make when we eat…well, at least when I eat, and when my boyfriend imitates me eating. And who doesn’t love cake?!?! And if you don’t, get off my page!

So hooray, I made banana bread again. Boo hoo, I don’t have measuring scales. 😦 Hooray I bought a loaf tin and a springform cake tin! Boo hoo, I forgot I didn’t have measuring scales.

In one of our more technologically inspired moments, I asked my Mum to email the recipe for banana tea bread that I’ve been making since I was about 8 maybe. It took a couple of tries (whoops, failed to inform Mum of my new email address) but at last we had success. Recipe below!!

 

prebaking

 

200g self raising flour
1.25ml bicarbonate of soda
2.5ml salt
75g butter
175g sugar
2 eggs beaten
450g bananas mashed
100g nuts, chopped

Grease and line an oblong loaf tin. Sift the flour, bicarb and salt. Cream the butter and sugar until pale and fluffy and add the egg a little at a time, beating well after each addition. Add the bananas and beat again. Stir in the flour and the nuts. Put into the tin and bake in the oven at 180C for about 1.25 hours until well risen and just firm. Turn out and cool on a wire rack. Keep for 24 hours before serving sliced and buttered.

buttery goodness 

Ya see all the reference to GRAMS up there? yeh, doesn’t work so well when you don’t have a scale. So I kinda guestimated with cups and stuff, and the result wasn’t TOO far from how it usually turns out, but it wasn’t quite right. GA. I also have to give props to the cook book this particular recipe comes from: Good Housekeeping – the South African Way, published 1981, or possibly earlier – 1981 just happens to be the year my Mum purchased the book…when she was about to become a Mummy for the first time. Nawwww.

2538.jpg

NOTE TO SELVES: Get scales before you make this recipe.I’m still always amazed at the fact that this is baked for 1hour + and it’s still lovely and not burned. And, amazement number two – this really does taste better 24 hours after it’s been baked. Yum. But greedy me can never wait, and I have to have some fresh out of the oven with lots of butter. Ahhhhh, my aorta!!technological recipeNote the little laptop on the kitchen bench – reading my Mum’s email from the kitchen. From email to oven. Hm, could be catchy…

texture

 

NOM NOM NOM WALNUTS…. Til our baking paths cross again.

xx Fif

March 31, 2008. Uncategorized.

4 Comments

  1. neil replied:

    You’re dead right there, baking doesn’t really happen without scales, but it was brilliant how you soldiered on anyway…butter is easy with the little marks on the side, but you were really on your own with all the rest. Looks prettty good though!

  2. Are you thinking what I’m thinking B1? « Fifi la cupcakes’s Weblog replied:

    […] just going to throw photos atcha as I’ve already posted this recipe in my Nom Nom Nom post – I mentioned that I’d baked this previously and it worked so much better since I got my […]

  3. donna replied:

    What in the world did you line the pan with???
    I have never seen anything like that before.

    • fifilacupcakes replied:

      Hi Donna,

      That would be the lazy person’s way of lining a baking pan with baking paper. Usually I would cut it nicely to fit the pan, but on lazy days, and times when it doesn’t matter what your cake or load looks like, I just smoosh it all in!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

