It’s not as simple as black and white…

I am a cupcake trend wh*re. Black bottom cupcakes and black/white cupcakes are EVERYWHERE, at How to Eat a Cupcake, at Airy Fairy Cupcake, at the Black Oven at Cupcake Rehab! So naturally, I must follow.

Now, in my previous post, I mentioned I would bake something 150 related. Well…i tried. In a really lame and convenient way. It almost wasn’t trying. I’m sorry. Forgive me?

I have been facinated with these back bottomed little creatures since I received the book ‘Cupcakes’ by Susanna Tee from my Mum for my birthday (or was it Christmas? They’re quite close together). Chocolate…plus cream cheese. Wow. My only problem with these babies is…are they cupcakes, or MUFFINS?!?! I define a cupcake as being quite sweet, with icing on top, whereas muffins can be a little less sweet and don’t have icing. These are sweet, but don’t have icing, but do kinda have cream cheese at the top, which is maybe a teensy bit like icing? I still think they’re muffins…WHAT DO YOU THINK?? HOW DO YOU DEFINE A CUPCAKE??

ANYWAY, I detract. Black bottom cupcakes ingredients below!!

Black Bottom Cupcakes, from Susanna Tee’s ‘The cupcake book’

225 g plain white flour
1 tsp bicarb of soda
3.5 tbsp cocoa powder
275g caster sugar
5 tbsp sunflower oil
1 tbsp white vinegar
1 tsp vanilla extract
200g full fat soft cream cheese
1 egg
150 g plain chocolate chip

Preheat oven to 180C. Line muffin pans with 16 fluted paper baking cups and generously spray the inside of the cups with a non-stick cooking spray. Sift together the flour, bicarb of soda and cocoa powder.

Stir in 200 g of the sugar into the flour mixture and make a well in the centre. Mix together the the water, oil, vinegar and vanilla, and pour into the well. Mix thoroughly and pour the batter into a jug.

Out the cream cheese, egg and remaining sugar in a bowl and beat together until light and fluffy – NB – not with an electric mixer, as I did…perhaps try by hand with a whisk or a fork. Then, stir in the chocolate chips.

Pour the mixture from the jug to fill each baking cup no more than two-thirds full. Top with a dollop of the cream cheese mixture (note – mine didn’t dollop as I beat the bejeebus out of my cream cheese and it became cream cheese soup :() and bake in the oven for about 25 minutes until firm to the touch. Leave in pans for 10 minutes then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

Now as I mentioned above, I encountered a couple of difficulties – one, I didn’t have enough muffin cases and I had driven down to the coast with what I thought was enough, and my Mum had some cool silicone muffin cases, but yeh, not enough. To combat this, I just sprayed the metal trays LOTS with cooking oil…it worked well! ALSO note, don’t over beat your cream cheese…cream cheese does not like to be beaten, it likes to be shaken, not stirred etc etc.

In all, these turned out pretty well. Baked from scratch and all. Aren’t ya proud?? The bitterness of the chocolate really complimented the creaminess of the cheese. It was also quite a spongey consistency, and almost a little bit red looking. This made me interested in the Red Velvet cup cake that I’ve been reading up on – so it may just be my next baking project, after my hiatus!! A more ‘dollopy’ consistency would also have gone down well, as the cheese qouldn’t have baked quite so much and would have been nice and gooey in the middle. Ah well, ya live, ya learn.

Now, my super lame 150 reference? It’s all in the choc chips…150 GRAMS of choc chips were used in this recipe. How convenient is that?!? Yeh, it was lucky!

Okie dokes, til my next food inspired thought pops into my head, stay sweet

Fifi xx

April 8, 2008. Uncategorized.

4 Comments

  1. SAMMUS replied:

    It was 1am and I had just arrived at a house quite foreign to me. Quite hungry. Much beer, but where was the food? Or was it all eaten? Alas I spotted some tupperware on the bench with something delightful inside. Cheese topped chocolate muffins. They were awesome.

  2. Marilla replied:

    Black & white cupcakes are very politically correct.

    I made ones similar to this, and the cream cheese mixture had that “dollopy” quality you mentioned… you may want to try them: http://cupcakerehab.com/?p=33

    They use cake mix for the chocolate but you could make your own chocolate cupcakes and add the cream cheese mixture.

  3. the airy fairy replied:

    these look lovely! well done! let me know if you need any help with blog promotion and how to put yourself out there and i’ll be happy to help 🙂
    bake on!

  4. Stefani replied:

    Cute cupcakes! I made completly different black and white cupcakes.

    http://www.cupcakeproject.com/2007/05/black-and-white-cupcakes-taste-of-ny.html

    Btw – I just found your blog via Airy Fairy. Looks like you are off to great start!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

