If it’s a vegetable, it’s healthy, right?

Thursday afternoon at work, I felt an attack of the ‘baking urge’ coming on. Rather than fight this urge, I embraced it, and went about surveying those around me what they would like for Friday’s baked treat.

I had made raspberry white choc muffins a couple of weeks prior, along with fudge, ANZACs, rum balls etc. Given that whatever I baked was likely to be what I ate for breakfast, I wanted something that was somewhat accepted outside the Cupcaking blogisphere as ‘breakfast friendly’ (sadly, cupcakes are not seen as breakfast food to others…) I had already made banana bread that week, so I thought and thought and POW the thought was genius – CARROT CAKE. Perfect for breakfast time, and it’s got vegetables in it, so it’s healthy, right?! 😉 And of course, I turned them into cup cakes 🙂

Mixture - happy carrots

Carrot Cake – from Lion House Desserts

1 cup sugar
1/2 cup oil
2 eggs, beaten
1 1/2 cups grated carrot
1 cup flour, sifted
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 cup dessicated coconut
1/4 cup nuts (I used walnuts)
1/4 sultanas (I left these out…dead flies!!)

Preheat oven to 180 degrees Celsius. Get your baking pan ready – greased and floured. Combine sugar and oil in a large mixing bowl. Add eggs and mix well. Add grated carrot. Slowly stir in all dry ingredients. Add coconut, nuts and sultanas and mix well. Pour into baking pans and bake for 20-30 mins (less for cupcakes…probably 15-18 would do it). When cool, spread with cream cheese frosting.

Now, there are 101 different cream cheese frosting recipes out there, and everyone has their favourites. I’ve never had any really good experiences with cream cheese frosting, and was determined to not end up with cream cheese soup again. So, I took 150 grams cream cheese and 4 tables spoons of icing sugar, and scraped 1/3 of a vanilla pod and whisked the ingredients together with a fork until the mixture was fluffy. Finally, Success!

Now, if you have a look at the pictures of these little treasures, they’re probably a little darker than they should be – see, I got caught up in watching the Sopranos (On DVD, my boyf got me into the series – I’m up to series three, about half way) and forgot EVERYTHING. Highly-addictive watching. So, note to selves, don’t watch high-involvement TV while baking 🙂

ANYWAY, I took these Carrot Cake Cup cakes to work, and they were a great success. What a great way to celebrate Friday, with a Medium Skinny organic chai latte with organic honey, and a carrot cake cupcake with vanilla bean cream cheese. 🙂 YUM

Enjoy folks!

Fifi La Cupcakes xxx

May 31, 2008. Uncategorized.

One Comment

  1. the airy fairy replied:

    i’m totally with you on the ‘if it’s a vegetable, it’s healthy’ theory…my current kick is…’if it’s got herbs in it, it must be good for you!’ and it seems to be convincing quite a lot of people! these look adorable…i love the little swirls on top! and they look adorable in that box with the pink tissue!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

