Winging it

*crickets* yeh, I know, it’s been quiet around here. My life has been a cup-cake and baked good free, fat-free, low carb, low calorie zone for the past couple of weeks.

But hey, I fit into my jeans again 😀

After diving off the band wagon on Saturday at a friend’s 21st, Sunday saw me trying to kinda be good, but also not really caring, so when I felt like scones, my LORD nothing was going to stop me.

Not the lack of a recipe, not the lack of a computer to find a recipe, nor the fact my Mum wasn’t answering her phone to give me a recipe….I winged it.

Now, a scone recipe really isn’t TOO hard, but Mr la Cupcakes laughed at me as I surveyed what I guessed my ingredients would be and pointed to each, thinking out-loud what their part in the baking process would be: pointing to self raising flour ‘that’ll make it rise’ pointing to bi-carb soda ‘that’ll make it rise’ pointing to eggs ‘that’ll bind it, and kinda make it rise’ and so on…he described it as Year 11 Chemistry all over again.

photo credit: Blue Lotus Products

So I got about 200g self raising flour, 1/2 tsp bi-carb soda, a pinch of salt, 1 egg, some milk and some caster sugar, mixed it all together, and then kneaded it, adding more flour until it wasn’t too sticky. It made about 6 scones, and they tasted just as they should, if not better – could probably have done with more milk, but meh.

And it’s OK, because I used low-joule strawberry jam 😉

Fi

July 1, 2008. Uncategorized.

5 Comments

  1. Mara replied:

    i hear ya re the jeans…i am doing a kind of lower sugar week, so thankfully i don’t have much baking going on, easy to be good then!

  2. the airy fairy replied:

    i must admit that i fail the jeans fit test all the time…i just can’t resist one of everything i bake…only i bake too often…that’s the problem. i love scones and i bet they tasted even better cos you winged it! love it when ‘wing its’ turn out really delish!

  3. Mara replied:

    hi fifi…! i tagged you on my blog, hope it will get you writing again. 🙂

  4. beth replied:

    ooh your “winging it” scones look great!

  5. Jane dG replied:

    Where have you gone la Cupcakes?

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

